self-control

It is ok to lose your shit sometimes because if you keep your shit, you’ll end up full of shit and then you’ll explode and there’ll be shit everywhere. A shit storm. And nobody wants that.

— Higher Perspective (from Facebook feed)

Just close your eyes for a second and visualise the mental image created by this quote.

id-100176526-brown-shit-storm
Image courtesy of vlado at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

Gross!

I know if I don’t have a rant about something it bottles up and festers, then eventually the tiniest thing makes me explode. When that happens, people don’t see all the background that went into creating the explosion. All they see is that I ‘overreacted’ to something really trivial.

There are people I admire because they always seem so cool, calm and collected. Nothing seems to rattle them. Something catastrophic could happen and their response would be, ‘Oh well. It happens. No point in worrying about it.’

I used to wish I was like that.

I know it isn’t healthy to get all wound up over every little thing that annoys you or doesn’t go your way. There are some things that really are out of our control, and no amount of fuss or bother is going to change that. (She says, knowing that she should really practise what she preaches.)

But surely, keeping all of your emotions and frustrations inside you isn’t healthy either. Isn’t that why people get ulcers, or are forced to take stress-leave? I haven’t had an ulcer or stress-leave because I lose my shit often.

Sometimes a really good foot-stomping, teeth gnashing, foul-mouthed tantrum is just what you need. (My mother and grandmother would disagree with the foul mouthed bit, but sometimes a well placed curse word is absolutely cathartic and the only thing that works.)

id-10042209-tantrum
A well-timed tantrum can serve a purpose. (Image courtesy of zirconicusso at FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

 

There is, however, a time and place for everything.

I will be the first to admit (before someone else says it for me) there has been many a time I have lost my shit in a not-so-appropriate venue, in front of people I really shouldn’t have. But, that is something I have to live with. I fully suspect (hope) that these have been the times when I have bottled up said shit behind a dam-wall, and the resulting explosion has created the shit-storm.

If I have done that to you, I apologise — unless you deserved it.

I have found a new outlet for losing my shit. This blog. It’s wonderful. I write what comes to mind (or what has been festering) and it feels great!

As for you, if you don’t like it, you can click the X button any time you like. I shan’t be offended.

But, if you feel like agreeing, disagreeing or adding your ideas, thoughts and experiences in the comments section, I welcome that too.

2 thoughts on “self-control

  1. One of my favourite comments – Shit happens!!!!
    I’m afraid I’m the product of ‘Children should be seen and not heard!’ It is very rare for me to ‘let it rip!’ in a public forum. I find it very difficult to air my frustration over the status quo. This certainly is not healthy and I’m glad our three sons reveal their assertiveness when discussing various life issues. I still hold on to old values about being assertive without being aggressive in coping with problems in our lives.
    I’m more than likely to dismissively say ‘Shit happens!!!’ and walk away.
    At times due to my experiences with bowel cancer I get so sick of shit influencing my physical being that I often explode on the home front. ‘Letting go’ with frustrations feels so good!! Mind you, I keep ‘shit’ behind doors ! – Mostly!!!!!!

    Like

    1. Janet – you have an awesome way with words!! I have seen you in ‘control mode’ where you are clearly restraining yourself from letting go with a verbal outburst. The differences between ‘your day’, ‘my day’ and ‘today’ are massive.

      Like

Leave a Reply

