pig-headedness (from Jan 17)

If nothing else works, a total pig-headed unwillingness to look facts in the face will see us through.

-from Blackadder

id-100498506-pig
Image courtesy of Ben Schonewill at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I have, throughout my life, frequently been accused of never wanting to back down, give up or lose an argument. The accusations have come from various people – family, friends and the little voice of reason in my own head.

Depending on the context, this attitude … shall we be honest and call it pig-headedness … can be seen as strength of character, persistence or resilience; in my case, however, most people are likely to have really wanted to call me stubborn, selfish or pig-headed. For the most part, they would be correct.

In an argument, or a ‘heated discussion’, I do admit at times … ok – frequently … refusing to bow to the facts which are right there in front of me, smacking me in the face. I have a good way with words and, provided I am not too worked up, can often successfully turn the topic on its head and down a track which is more comfortable for me and has a finish-line I know I will reach before my opponent … friend.

Don’t think that I do what I wrote about despising in a previous blog – making up crap when I don’t know something. Nope … that is not going to happen.

What I am talking about is opinions. This is where the real pig-headedness comes in. Throw all the ‘research’ and ‘longitudinal studies’ and ‘jargon’ at me that you will – but if I believe that a certain pedagogy, strategy or philosophy will/won’t work, or is/isn’t right, then by all means see if you can change my mind. You’ll be wasting your time. (And, might I add here, the more you push – the less likely I am to ever give in.)

Let’s agree to disagree.

This is something I say often. I will no sooner try to change somebody else’s mind than allow them to change mine.

But that doesn’t mean I won’t think evil (private) thoughts about said disagree-er. Think it, don’t say it.

When it comes to learning new skills, however, or doing something ‘out of my comfort zone’, I am more than willing to look … no, welcome … any fact that remotely suggests I don’t continue. I am mainly talking about physical skills here – or skills that involve excessive confidence with technology.

I do not like to fail.

If there is anything that suggests I may fail – then I don’t want a part of that activity.

This is a flaw that I am constantly working on – one for which I really, really need to have ‘a total pig-headed unwillingness to look facts in the face’.

Over the years, I fear I have missed out on a lot of fun, excitement and opportunities because I look too carefully at the facts, often misinterpreting them or reading things into them to suit myself.

Writing this blog is one of those opportunities; though I fear I am revealing too much of myself.

Then again, maybe you knew all of this about me already, and now you know that I do too.

Leave a Reply

