Love Life

Just love life and it will love you back.

-Madeline*

id-10069855-heart
Image courtesy of nixxphotography at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

The other day I attended the funeral of a gentleman I had never met. I was there to support his daughter, who is a colleague and a friend.

My friend delivered part of the eulogy for her Dad.

The love that flowed from her words filled the room. We laughed with her and we cried.

His childhood had been tough but he chose not to keep this cycle going. Instead, he devoted every ounce of his being to raising a beautiful family and loving them unconditionally.

He loved life and it loved him back.

The words, ‘he was a giant on the inside as well as the outside’ were used by several people to describe this amazing man.

At one point, my friend said, ‘he built a life for us with his big heart’.

Instantly I thought, ‘You, my dear, have clearly taken after your father.’

The tributes all pointed towards family members and friends who were in awe of his generosity, selflessness and capacity to give. Their appreciation knew no boundaries and the cycle of love he has started, from an early life of no love, looks set to continue.

Too often I have to remind myself to be thankful for what I have.

My husband is not perfect. He has his own agenda, and that is what makes him who he is. But he has been incredibly supportive of my career crisis/journey over the last few years.

My daughter is a teenager. Need I say more? But she is genuinely a beautiful, caring person who, when push comes to shove, would defend her brother to the death.

My son has Asperger’s Syndrome. Life is a rollercoaster … and it’s hard sometimes. But he is so affectionate and he, surprisingly for someone on the spectrum, has amazing empathy. And he is funny!

My friendship group is small. I really am shy – my social skills are not brilliant. But the friends I choose to surround myself with are truly wonderful and I know they will be there for me if and when I need them to be.

My father passed away from mesothelioma four years ago. I miss him like you wouldn’t believe and often think, ‘Why him? It’s not fair.’ But I have wonderful memories of him, and my children are old enough to remember how awesome he was and how much he loved them.

Listening to my friend talk so passionately, and with so much love, about her father really brought all of this home to me.

Just love life and it will love you back.

*Wise words indeed considering they came from an 11-year old from Quebec, Canada
(365 Days of Wonder, by R.J. Palacio)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Love Life

  1. ‘If you love the life you live……you will live a life of love!’ This quote was a special one of Jannie’s (brother Bruce’s partner). How important it is to embrace life and be grateful for all the wonderful things/people it has given us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

