‘Tis always morning somewhere in the world.

-Richard Henry Hengist Horne *

For me, morning symbolises a fresh start. It doesn’t matter what has happened the day before, today is a new day.

It’s a philosophy I hope I apply to everyday life.

Maybe my children have been particularly poorly behaved, and my tolerance low, during the day … morning comes and it’s a fresh start. The previous day’s behaviour is not referred to, the annoyance I felt is suppressed. A new beginning is particularly important for children on the autism spectrum … but it applies equally as well to everyone else.

Possibly I’ve had a day where I have eaten nothing but junk (um … that would be every day during these Christmas holidays) – show me someone who says they haven’t and I’ll show you a fibber. Aside from the fact that my inner workings are probably suffering from the previous day’s indulgences and are serving as a constant reminder of the fact I have ‘fallen off the wagon’ … morning dawns and I refuse to beat myself upL about the day before and go back to eating good stuff. (I don’t do diets per se, they don’t work, but I do try to eat relatively healthily and not constantly nibble/gorge on the yummy food that calls to me every time I walk through the kitchen.)

Let’s say today’s dragon-boating training session went … not-so-well … maybe my stroke was out, I kept splashing, I couldn’t keep up, my arm was bent and not in its beautiful A-frame, I was only tea-bagging or it simply just didn’t feel right. I might go home feeling demoralised and thinking I am never going to get this right. But, the next training session (i.e. the next ‘morning’) is a new session and I just have to regroup, write off the previous session and focus on one thing.

On a bigger scale – students. Children get reputations, good and bad. Sometimes these reputations come from their siblings. They may be academic or behavioural or something to do with the parents. A mentor teacher once said to me, ‘Each year should be a fresh start for every child, and teacher.’ I couldn’t agree more. Teachers talk, as do parents. They share information and, as occurs with human nature, opinions. Some information is very important to share, e.g. allergies, reactions to stress situations, calming activities etc. However, each child deserves a fresh start and just because they’ve had a bad, or good, year last year doesn’t mean the same will happen again. My son’s teachers over the last two years have been brilliant. They didn’t focus on what had happened the previous year, or the previous term (or even the previous week in some cases) – every day, week, term and year was a new start. I thank them for that and hope they know how much it has been appreciated.

‘Tis always morning somewhere in the world.  Everyone, even you, deserves a new beginning, no matter how big or small.

* Richard Henry Hengist Horne (1802-1884) was an English poet and critic. He is most famous for his epic poem Orion (which I admit I haven’t read, but I have included the link below should you wish to. It’s really, really long.) Horne was born, and died, in England, but spent 17 years of his life working in Australia.

Link to ORION:  https://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Orion

Leave a Reply

