Life is like a rollercoaster … with all its ups and downs.

-Kyler *

I love rollercoasters!

id-10086914-roller-coaster
Image courtesy of Sura Nualpradid at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I don’t know if this is because they are so thrilling, or simply because they are the only ride I can go on without spewing my guts up. (Yes – I once vomited from the top of a ferris wheel, and I can’t go on a basic merry-go-round without feeling queasy. But put me on a rollercoaster and I am fine.)

A rollercoaster has so much happening: a long, slow climb to the top followed by the gaining of momentum as you rush to the bottom again, an unexpected twist here, a sharp turn the other way there, a series of loops which leave you not knowing which direction you are facing, up and down, round and round, a sudden slowing and jolting stop, wobbly legs as you clamber out and make your way to the end of the line to do it all again.

Whoever invented rollercoasters MUST have based them on life.

Life is full of twists and turns, ups and downs, moments that take your breath away, scary times and fun times.

My life, pre-children, was more like one of those kiddie rollercoasters. The ones that have the ups and downs, the turns and twists – but they are more gentle and don’t require a safety bar that squashes your breasts down to your knees and makes breathing tricky. (Sorry – or is that just me?)

My life now, with a teenage girl and a special-needs boy, is a full-throttle, multi-loop roller coaster complete with neck-cracking twists and death-defying drops … and the  aforementioned safety bar.

Sometimes I long for a ‘merry-go-round’ or ‘ferris wheel’ life. Nice and safe(ish), predictable, slow and steady. But, as I’ve already mentioned, these rides make me queasy … and, be honest, they are a bit boring after the first couple of times around.

I do not wish to know the safety stats on rollercoasters. Life will be what it is … I want to enjoy it (and survive it to the best of my ability) without worrying about what might happen.

* A note on Kyler:  I found this quote in 365 Days of Wonder by R.J. Palacio. This wonderful book is full of quotes by famous people and children who submitted their favourite quotes, or their own quotes, to the author for publication in this book. When the book was published, 2014, Kyler (from Merrick, N.Y.) was 10 – and this was his own original quote. Not bad insight for a 10-year old.

Leave a Reply

