“We have so much time and so little to do. Strike that, reverse it.”

– Willy Wonka  (Roald Dahl)

I don’t know what it is about this quote, but it’s the one that comes to my mind every time I think of this book. Maybe it’s because the concept of having lots of time and nothing to do has been so foreign to me since … forever.

The idea of being bored with nothing to do appeals to me. I am currently on school holidays. If I was to believe all of the people who have told me how lucky teachers are because of the all the holidays we get – then maybe Willy Wonka’s simple utterance would not appeal to me so much.

School holidays are for catching up on all the jobs that I don’t have time to do during the school term because I am planning, interviewing, marking … marking … marking. And prior to these particular holidays our boss gave us all a ‘gift’ – a book that we must read during the holidays to prepare for our first PL session. I have no doubt that this book is good value – but because I’ve been told I must read it …

I do remember, as a Primary School student, that the Christmas holidays seem to stretch out with no end in sight. I loved school and I missed it during the holidays. Yes … I do recall saying (and thinking) that I was bored. Then again, Roald Dahl’s words only started appealing to me when I was in University.

Enough said. I love this quote and that’s all there is to it. It’s funny – and I want it to be true.

In the meantime, however, I really do need to go and cook lunch. And I believe it has started raining, even though I only put the washing out less than 30 minutes ago – when it was sunny. Then – there is the pantry that needs cleaning out …

Leave a Reply

