Day 1 …

This is the excerpt for your very first post.

Where to begin? There are so many quotes that I love and that resonate with me in different ways. But I feel I need to begin with the one that comes to mind most readily … and that keeps coming back when I try to think of other quotes – but can’t.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory was the first Roald Dahl book I read. It was, for the most part, a pure fantasy-world that I loved to emerge myself into … and not just because of the chocolate factor. I absolutely adore Willy Wonka – both in the book and in the original version of the movie. You know – the one where Gene Wilder played a brilliant Willy Wonka. Not the one where Johnny Depp’s Willy Wonka was a scary, clown-like psycho character.

I could go into a great analysis of the character of Willy Wonka and his multiple issues – but that would just ruin the magic for all of us.

Instead – I will begin my ‘new year’s resolution’ blog with one of the best quotes from Willy Wonka.

Leave a Reply

